Articles Cameras

EISA Photography Awards 2023-2024: Nikon Z 8 Wins CAMERA OF THE YEAR Award

The EISA 2023-2024 Awards are out, and the Nikon Z 8 wins the camera of the Year award.

EISA, the Expert Imaging and Sound Association, an association of 60 special interest magazines and websites from 29 countries, has published their Best Products 2023-2024 awards, and in the photography category, 7 cameras from 5 brands get their top awards.

Last year, Nikon took center stage with their flagship full-frame mirrorless Nikon Z 9 winning the Camera of the Year award. This year, Nikon once again snatches the Camera of the Year award, this time with the Nikon Z 8 (which basically is the Z 9 without the handgrip). The Canon EOS R1 (Canon’s flagship full-frame mirrorless camera) is expected in 2024 and, unless someone else pulls a rabbit out of its hat, we can already make a good guess which camera will wear the crown next year.

For those looking for a Best Buy Camera, the Canon EOS R8 (Full-frame mirrorless) wins that award. The Sony ZV-E1 (Full-frame mirrorless) wins the Content Creator Camera award. The Panasonic Lumix S5IIX (Full-frame mirrorless) wins the Video Camera award.

Here are the EISA 2023-2024 camera awards:

Camera of the Year: Nikon Z 8
Advanced Full-Frame Camera: Sony Alpha 7R V
Best Buy Camera: Canon EOS R8
Full-Frame Camera: Canon EOS R6 Mark II
Content Creator Camera: Sony ZV-E1
APS-C Camera: Fujifilm X-H2
Video Camera: Panasonic Lumix S5IIX

Visit the EISA Site

You can read more about these cameras in our Mirrorless Camera Buyer’s Guide.

Then, there are the EISA 2023-2024 lens awards:

Lens of the Year: Sony FE 20-70mm F4 G
Wide-Angle Zoom Lens: TAMRON 20-40mm F/2.8 Di III VXD
Standard Prime Lens: Sony FE 50mm F1.4 GM
Portrait Lens: Nikon NIKKOR Z 85mm f/1.2 S
Super Telephoto Lens: Nikon NIKKOR Z 400mm f/4.5 VR S
Telephoto Lens: Canon RF 135mm F1.8L IS USM
Telephoto Zoom Lens: TAMRON 50-400mm F/4.5-6.3 Di III VC VXD
Super Telephoto Zoom Lens: SIGMA 60-600mm F4.5-6.3 DG DN OS | Sports
Macro Lens: OM System M.Zuiko Digital ED 90mm F3.5 Macro IS Pro

Visit the EISA Site

Note that the EISA awards do not compare cameras (and lenses) within categories to select the best (irrespective of the year of introduction). Basically, the editors select a camera (and lens) that impressed them (the “best product”) and that was introduced during the year, and then they create an award for that camera. If you are the only one who introduced a camera, then you’re more or less getting an EISA (something) award.