Amazon.com Widgets
Monday, April 29th, 2013
COMMENT
Fun Stuff, Videos

Remote Controlled BeetleCam Braves Wildlife

Wed April 21, 2010

[ via Steve's Digicams ]

Read how the creators added a DSLR camera on top and used the BeetleCam to take pictures of wildlife from a relatively safe distance: BL Blog

COMMENT
-->

COMMENT
Fun Stuff

The Fish-Eye Tin Can

Wed April 21, 2010

Build a fisheye lens using a decaputated soda can and a peephole, ‘nough said.

Read the How-to article at: cow.mooh.org

[ via Steve's Digicams ]

COMMENT
-->

COMMENT
Fun Stuff

Capture ‘A Moment in Time’ May 2 at 15:00 UTC

Wed April 21, 2010

The NYTimes is organizing this planet-wide “moment in time” event when photographers all over the world take a snapshot at exactly 15:00 UTC (or GMT), thus forever capturing that single moment in the life of our planet. You then have 5 days to upload it to their website for all to view.

15:00 UTC is Sun 11:00 AM in Toronto, Sun 8:00 AM in Vancouver. Find the time in your country and time zone.

Read the article and get the details at: NYTimes

COMMENT
-->

COMMENT
Tutorials

Tutorial: Optical vs Sensor-shift Image Stabilization

Wed April 21, 2010

When we hand hold a camera and press the shutter release button to take a picture, we ever so slightly move the camera. This “camera shake” often results in a blurred picture. Image stabiliation (I.S.) is a technology that either moves a lens element (Optical I.S.) or the camera’s image sensor (Sensor-shift I.S.) to compensate for camera shake and reduce or eliminate the blurring.

But is one better than the other? You would think so by reading the discussions on some forum boards. There is a difference in how they work but there is no better I.S. Each has its own strength and weakness.

Continue Reading »

COMMENT
-->